Posted by: ottok88 | June 22, 2008

Back Again!

Hello again!  I had a bit of a problem with the computer last week, but it was my own fault.  Luckily, Granddaughter Jenn took care of it for me.  The elderly should realize that it is good to have young people around!

 

This past week I have been feeling a bit lazy.  Some people may call it tired, but I’ll call it lazy.  However, I did manage to get out there and pull out a couple of basketfuls of weeds!  They sure or doing well with this heat and rain.  And don’t you think that a lot of what we call weeds are really wild flowers and have a certain beauty.  Maybe we should try to train some of them to be less wild.

I guess that would be “domestication”, wouldn’t it?

 

Another thing I did this week was to read quite a bit.  And i am almost finished with that book that I mentioned a couple of weeks ago: “Three Cups of tea”.  I read two other books while reading that one, and I think I should avoid beginning other books at the same time I am reading such a good one.  But, is that bad, huh?  I still think that the “Tea” book is one of the best ever.  I hope it will be read by many.  (but I say that about so many books.)

 

I am always interested in learning what books others have on their list of favorites.  What is on your list?  One of my favorite authors has become a French Canadienne author, Gabrielle Roy.

Unfortunately she is no longer living, but she has left behind quite a number of worthwhile books.  They are not wildly exciting, but well written, beautifully worded, almost poetic.  Anyway, I really enjoyed them.  I have read almost all of her books, in translation of course.  My wife, Marthe,  can read the originals,  and it was she who introduced me to French Canadian literature, which includes  Another which I really enjoyed.  It is a little volume call “maria chapdelaine”, on of my favorites.

 

Okay, enough for a Sunday morning.  I have a newspaper to peruse.

Responses

  1. Check my mom’s blog…she tagged you for a survey.

  2. If you are able to enjoy Gabrielle Roy in the original French you may also like the work of marie-claire blais, a Quebec author who also writes descript prose. I do enjoy Roy and over the years have decided to reread her work in the original French (now that my French is functionable) and what a different world it is for me to reread the work in the original. Rich. Colouful. Roy.

    I’ve listed a number of her works on my bookshelf for Book Crossing.
    http://www.bookcrossing.com

    I list only Canadian authors and plan to launch these great works into the wild via Book Crossing.

    Enjoy Roy and the beauty of her words,

    Kathleen

    Kathleen Molloy, author – La Mort au menu
    http://www.lamortaumenu.ca

    http://www.kathleenmolloy.offo.ca

    http://www.diningwithdeath.ca

  3. Two of my favorite books are “Wuthering Heights” and “Jane Eyre”. I don’t have a lot of time to read, but I do enjoy rereading these every so often. My problem with reading is that when I start a book, I don’t want to do anything else until the book is finished. I just want to sit and read UNINTERRUPTED until I’m done. That doesn’t work too well when you have a hungry husband, a family or other responsibilities. When I finish a book I usually feel like I’ve been in a trance…”Where am I?”….”What time is it?”. I also feel very guilty for “wasting time” reading. I wish I could just read a chapter or two and put the book down until later, but then I’m not nearly as interested in it the next time I pick it up. That is probably why I don’t read as much as I would like to.

    Did I ever tell you (Otto) that I wrote a book? It was an assignment for a class I took about 17 years ago. It is a children’s book…my mom illustrated it with beautiful watercolor paintings. I haven’t had it published because I don’t have a clue how to go about doing that, but it is really a lovely book. It’s called “Molly Mapleseed”. Next time we come for a visit, I’ll bring it along.

    Hugs to you and Marthe,
    Love, Nan

  4. Sidney Sheldon and Ken Follitt are two of my favorites. I’ve heard that Follitt’s new book (I forgot the name) is excellent. The book was one of Oprah’s.

    Dad – will you let me read the Tea book when you’re done?

    xxoo


Leave a Reply

Categories

