Posted by: ottok88 | February 5, 2009

LEGEND of the GROUNDHOG

Today I hd a comment on my Groundhog Blog from my Australian Friend.  I offer a brief explanation about the custom  which seems to be more popular in Canada and in the U. S.

It began in the 1800’s in Pennsylvania by the largely German population.  I don’t know HOW it began, but they decided that on Febreuary 2nd if the groundhog emerged from his winter nap, and saw his shadow he would be predicting 6 more weeks of winter.  But that date is actually 6 weeks before the first day of spring.  So, no matter how you look at it, it is 6 weeks of winter or 6 weeks until spring. A bit silly, eh?  But people have fun with it.

In any case, we here in Chicago will be mighty happy to be rid of winter this year, because it has been such a very cold month.  We are expecting a real warm-up this weekend and it will be more like spring.  I know that Australia is about to go into Autumn.  Well, I hope they will have a nicer Winter than we are ready to say “Good-bye” to.  It’s good, isn’t it that we do have 4 seasons, and that each one is 3 months long.  I like that. 

And now I’ll say G’bye to my Australian friend.

Responses

  1. I always tell my kindergartners that if the Groundhog sees his shadow, we’ll have six more weeks of winter. If he doesn’t see his shadow, we have a month and a half of winter. They don’t “get it”, but I get a chuckle out of it.

    Love you! Nan

  2. It’s still pretty confusing!

    We’re having a heatwave here at the moment, and it’s GREAT. We have been in drought for a few years now, but haven’t had particularly hot summers… until now! Last week it was 47 degrees in South Australia, and we are expecting 40 degrees here in Canberra tomorrow which hasn’t happened for quite a few years!

    I hope you have a lovely spring :o)

  3. this note is to the attention of “Niko’s pa”! I am happy to hear that Niko is making you laugh. 🙂 Glad to see you and Mom so happy. The way that Niko chases the squirrels in the yard makes me think that it’s a good thing you don’t have the oh so famous ground hog in your yard. If that crazy Niko got a hold of the ground hog – yikes that means we would never have Spring again!!!!

    c u soon 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

