Posted by: ottok88 | May 16, 2009

Where is SPRING?

We had a couple of spring days in Chicago last week, but not long enough. Had a couple of rain days too and today, altho the sun is shining it ie very windy and cooool. But I guess we must be patient. We had many spring floweres just the same. And the lilacs were spectacular this year. Maybe summer will happen next week!

We have those little garter snakes in our back yards and thais a sign of spring too. I wonder if they have snakes in Australia? Or do they sometimes see koala bears or kangaroos running around? That would be something different.

Niko likes very much to be outside now and the other day we saw him bothering one of those garter snakes. It was about 14 or 15 inches long. We did not want Niko to hurt the snake so I went out and poked it with my cane and he crawled away safely. But I am not able to be out there with Niko all the time so I’ll just have to let happen what happens. The snakes are practically harmless anyway.

I just went over what I have written and made several corrections. Probably did not get all my mistakes so please overlook them. After all I am not an expert at anything.

WEll, since the sun is still shining I think I’ll put a jacket on and go out. Maybe I’ll pick some of the rhubarb and cook it. Maybe tomorrow will be a little warmer.

I would like to write more, but I am a bit tired. So I” make this a short BLOG. It’s probably not very interesting either. My brain is tired too, I suppose. Maybe I’ll do better next time.
‘Bye for now!


Responses

  1. It is windy and cool here too – we must have almost the same weather! Luckily for you it will get warmer over there; unluckily for us it is only getting colder here.

    We have lots of snake over here! 7 of the top 10 most dangerous snakes are in Australia, including the top 5:
    – Inland Taipan (Oxyuranus microlepidotus)
    – Eastern Brown Snake (Pseudonaja textilis)
    – Coastal Taipan (Oxyuranus scutellatus)
    – Mainland Tiger Snake (Notechis scutatus)
    – Peninsula or Black Tiger Snake (Notechis ater niger)

    Luckily, I’ve only ever seen one snake in the wild, and that was at a friends farm when I was a kid. This site has some pictures of Australian snakes too:

    Click to access Spectacular%20Snakes%20of%20Australia%20sample.pdf

    I’ve never seen a koala in the wild, but I’ve patted them at Australia Zoo (Steve Irwin’s zoo). I have also seen an emu, kookaburra’s and an echidna out and about. I also saw an ostrich, but I think it was someone’s property! We do see a lot of kangaroos, even in the suburbs – unfortunately they get hit by cars fairly often because when they see bright lights the dodge back and forth and all around, quite often in front of the car :o(

    Even your short blog posts are interesting!


Leave a comment

Categories