Posted by: ottok88 | March 12, 2011

G’bye Winter!

YES,  winter is on the way out!  and we are really happy about that!  However Chicago has  established a new record for the snowiest February in their history!  …and I think I have set a new record for the laziest month of my life! It has been over a month since I wrote anything here.  Well maybe I have a good excuse!  It is INCOME TAX time! But I have been thinking about my friend, ENNY (and her family) in Australia.

How are you doing, Enny?  How is your husband? and the baby? Do you have a date as yet when to expect the little Australian to arrive?  The closer you get the more exciting it is also. I wonder if you have a name picked out yet?  Will it be winter down there when the baby arrives? 

I remember when we had our 5th baby (and 5th girl) and I had to send Marthe to the hospital in an ambulance in the middle of a blizzard!  I stayed home with the other 4 girls because it was the middle of the night and I certainly did not want to leave them alone.   I hope you have beautiful weather for the birth of your first child, even if it is in mid-winter! 

It is still somewhat cold here, but the prediction is for spring-like weather by next weekend!  I look forward to when I can sit outside again and soak up some sunshine.  To sit out there in the yard and read or just sit and have a cup of coffee with Marthe is a happy time. Of course, sitting and talking with Marthe any where, anytime is a pleasure!

Do you have a garden at your home?  And by the way, what is your husband’s name if you don’t mind telling me.  I don’t even know yours! 

I have a daughter named Lynne and she uses her name backwards (ennyl)for part of her E-mail address.  Every time I see it I think of Australia.  And now, I think I have written enough.  I am getting tired.  So G’day to you and your family.

Responses

  1. Hi there!

    Snowiest February ever? Sounds like a lot of hard work – a great excuse to be lazy!

    My husband and I are doing well – our baby girl is due on the 13th of July, so today I’m five months pregnant, with four months to go! Very scary 😉 We have picked a name – well, 75% picked the name. She will have two middle names, and we are just going to determine the second one, probably from my husbands family names somewhere along the line (the first name is my dad’s mothers name, the second name is the name my parents wanted to give to their second daughter if they ever got a second daughter – they never got one!).

    It will be July when she is born – the average minimum for July in Canberra is -2.0 degrees, and the average maximum is 11 degrees. We’re going to have a look at gas heating, I think! While we usually get shocking winds off the mountains, and lots of annoying frost on the cars, at least we wont’ have to worry about a snowstorm! On the bright side, often those cold days just look fantastic and clear (after the fog lifts, the wind blows the air clean!).

    I am glad you are at getting spring though – it’s nice to know that while we are losing the warmer weather, it is going somewhere else 😉

    We do have a garden at home! When we bought our new house almost a year ago, I promised my husband that I would look after the garden, but then I got pregnant! I still trim the roses and the hydrangea’s and some of the other plants, I do the low maintenance work. It has a nice rainforest bit down the side, full of ferns and ivy. The people who owned the house before us were retired and kept an amazing garden. Unfortunately, it’s not quite as good now, but still very nice. Very soon the magnolia and camelias out the front will start to flower – and they are just stunning.

    My actual name is Erin, my husband’s name is Daniel 🙂

    We were very lucky to get a second dog last month! Her name is Grace and she is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel crossed with a miniature pinscher – she looks like a mini doberman, but much, much cuter. She was born on 30 October, so she is still a pudgy puppy, and her toilet training is slowly getting better (but is still patchy) but she is lots of fun. We wanted to make sure that our chihuahua had a friend before the baby came, because he is very spoilt and we worry that he would feel left out!

    I hope the weather keeps getting warmer for you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

